Italian Regions Used in Genealogy

Lolita Nikolova, PhD

Italy is divided into 5 historical-administrative regions. This is the category, which precedes the name of the country on the pedigree (see the example below).

North Eastern Italy

  • Emilia-Romagna
  • Friuli-Venezia Giulia
  • Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol
  • Veneto

North Western Italy

  • Aosta Valley
  • Liguria
  • Lombardy
  • Piedmont

Central Italy

  • Abruzzo
  • Lazio
  • Marche
  • Tuscany
  • Umbria

Southern Italy

  • Apulia
  • Basilicata
  • Calabria
  • Campania
  • Molise

Insular Italy

  • Sardinia
  • Sicily


Example how to include an information about an Italian place of origin on the pedigree:

Coassolo Torinese, Turin, Piedmont, Italy (English version)

Italian version: Coassolo Torinese, Torino, Piemonte, Italia

NOTE: Use always the most recent name of the place of origin and its contemporary administrative affiliation. The old names can be included in notes.

Link: Customized Italian Genealogy Course  





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s